Document Type


Publication Date



The first paragraph of the document reads, "Whereas Henry Hospers, S. Bolks, A. Buursma and Finley Burke of Orange City Iowa, James de Pree and T. Wayenberg of West Branch Township, Sioux County Iowa and J.W.Warnshuis, D. Gleysteen and J.S. Tucker of Alton, Iowa, have incorporated themselves and their successors under the corporate name of "The Northwestern Classical Academy" for the purpose of founding an academy of learning at Orange City Iowa and at a meeting of the corporators did elect as Trustees of Said Academy Henry Hospers, S. Bolks, A Buursma, Finley Burke, James de Pree, T. Wayenberg, J.W. Warnshuis, D. Gleysteen ann J.S. Tucker." The document lists the names and donation amounts of Northwestern Classical Academy's original founders and donors.